The World

“I’m sorry sweet child of mine, this is not the world I hoped for you.”

My mother sent me the text late last night, when to the shock of everyone, it became increasingly clear that Donald J. Trump would become President of the United States.

It broke me heart.

It is a terrible thing, that so many white voters feel as though their country has failed them. It’s also a terrible thing that so many minority groups have been failed by their country.

But today I am inspired by the messages of love and hope my friends have shared. The world my parents dreamed for me is not out of reach. We have to fight for it.

Leave a Reply

